Together

Sanville Elem. 1969-70 JP

“Hi, are you the John Paul McNeil that taught at Sanville Elementary  in the ’70’s?”  That was the message on FB I got not too long ago from Betty , one of my former students, now a mother, and grandmother.  A few more of those “kids” and I got Together for a reunion, Betty bringing some of her musical family.  I wrote a song to go along with the video, and a story Betty told about bringing a flower in for a science project in that class from long ago.  Simpler times, with no fears about guns and tragedy.  I hope and pray we find kinder and more loving times again, Together.

Together

Betty brought a flower in
cause that’s what we were studyin’
but I could tell her little heart was turnin’.
So I made sure that Betty knew
and each one of them kids before we were through
that every flower would be respectfully undone for learnin’.

Chorus 1: Betty said she trusted me
all those kids were so darned sweet
I didn’t notice the changes in the weather.
Though storms kept comin’ up
the kids and I had a lovin’ cup
and everyday we’d drink it up
Together, Together

The girls and Betty were into growin’ up
the guys like Ricky and Wayne into frogs and stuff
but all of them loved it when Id bring in my old six string.
We’d sing those songs in harmony
It was an elementary symphony
And I can still feel the pleasure it would bring.

Chorus 2: But changes came and I was bound
-for a job down in the town
-something I thought somehow would be better.
But better is as better does
-and it aint always so because
-when you leave what you really love
-you’re not Together.

The years can like a freight train roll
-before you know it the tracks seem long and cold
-and that train can’t climb the hills like it used to.
But love is such a funny thing
-makes the journey lighter and the heart to sing
-and that old train can climb most anything if you choose to.

Chorus 3: Suddenly it seems so clear, with all of us gathered here
There’s nothing that could really be much better.
Flowers that we knew before, seem brighter as we sing once more
The song that we were lookin’ for, Together…..Together…. © jpmcneil

Hear the song, here: http://johnpaulmcneil.bandcamp.com/

See it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGOy5Q9fO-g

About John Paul McNeil

New to blogging. New to being retired (my daughter says I retired too early). I say not soon enough, as so much music was waiting to come out. Thoughts which turn to poems which turn to songs. The Earth is one rich theme. But also want to theme this search for where the Music, and the Words, and the Songs come from. And go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

