Muse-ic, on the creative side

I found a letter to my Muse this eve
’twas hidden somewhere up my sleeve
 full of  fear, hesitation, and doubt
I fairly cried aloud when it came out

The Muse-ic, and the letter that is
So I did a re-write, and it was this:
“Dear Muse-ical One, forgive me now
and I will make this solemn vow.

To honor you with all my fingers
cast out doubt, ’til none doth linger
mesh my gifts like wheel and cog
make something fine of this here Blog.”

Well, that was awhile back (I’m editing this on March 8, 2012).  In my defense, I didn’t say WHEN I would make something fine of this, did I?  I literally forgot about this blog here.  That was a fine start, huh?  All I can do is, start again.  Or not.  Well, the Blog Buck stops here!  (at least tonight).

About John Paul McNeil

New to blogging. New to being retired (my daughter says I retired too early). I say not soon enough, as so much music was waiting to come out. Thoughts which turn to poems which turn to songs. The Earth is one rich theme. But also want to theme this search for where the Music, and the Words, and the Songs come from. And go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Muse-ic, on the creative side

  1. Bee says:

    Well, there you go – your first post! Don’t just put it in the comments section, go post it! 😀

  2. OMG, I am honored, another reply and the blog aint even up yet! And a sweet respnse it is. I see now, thanks to you, one thing we will attempt on this blog is “writing that letter”. Such a lovely idea. Here goes, strap on yer BlogBelt.

    I found a letter to my Muse this eve
    ’twas hidden somewhere up my sleeve
    and full of past, preciseness and doubt
    I fairly cried aloud when it came out

    The Muse-ic, and the letter that is
    I did a re-write, and it was this:
    “Dear Muse-ical One, forgive me now
    and I will make this simple vow.

    To honor you with all my fingers
    cast out doubt, ’til none of it lingers
    mesh my gifts like wheel and cog
    and stay tuned in to this here Blog.”

    Amen, and Ahwomen
    Peace, JP

  3. Bee says:

    I am pretty sure this is the first time I have commented on a blog before there was anything actually, you know, IN IT. But since the first thing I ever read from you was in rhyming couplets and I find the pun of this (empty, ahem!) blog title delightful, I do hope that you decide to start writing in it soon.

    • Hello, Bee. And congratulations, you are the first to comment (besides myself, I comment to myself all the time), on this potentially/hopefully interesting but alas (empty, ahem!) blog. I believe we cyber-met on Manof’s blog. Interesting and prolific guy, Manof. I loved his poem, and your response, and I am delighted you liked mine enough to connect. I see you are a musician as well. The blog, particularly if you write/create music (or desire too) will be “write” (Har! dont you LOVE double entendres, and triple, wow, “make my day”) up your alley. I am also getting my first music web site up, so the blog is second fiddle for now. But I can spend a little time. I write a LOT of music in several different genres (string player, guitar, bass, mandolin, some banjo). Fascinating how songs come “in”, as out of the ethers, from the Muse, God, Goddess, the Ancestors, DNA, the Universe, the Cosmos, the Dreaming, all the above, but certainly not none of the above. Watcha think?

      • Bee says:

        I’m looking forward to it! My training is classical, and my current job is mostly classical as well (staff accompanist at a small liberal arts college and sub accompanist at another slightly larger liberal arts college which I desperately want to hire me). I used to write for the worship band at my church, but I don’t play there very much any more, and life circumstances have dampened that particular creative outlet rather seriously in recent years. I play for weddings now and then, and have a reputation for being able to play very nearly indefinitely, flowing easily from one song and key to the next, classical, pop love songs, Disney themes, hymns dressed up in modern chords, that sort of thing. That has a fairly limited market though, so the classical work is where I make my living, such as it is.

        I have no idea where songs come from. I wish I did. I would write them a letter and ask them to send me more.

Leave a comment