Mer

What if you could sing a song in ????????????????????????????????????????a foreign tongue, unknown to you? Impossible!  It thought so too, until it happened.  A few years ago, I “felt” a song coming in.  This usually happens when I sit with my guitar, and chords start flowing in from “nowhere” (meaning “everywhere”).  I had learned enough over the years (I am trainable to some degree), to open up the recording gear, just in case.  Well, the chords felt good and rich and interesting.  And then these foreign words came out.  And kept coming.  I turned on the vocal mic, and caught them.  I played them back, with the guitar part behind them.  Amazing.  It sounded like some ancient language, somehow familiar to me.  A little like Gaelic, from the little I had heard of it.  It did not matter on some level, it simply sounded real and complete, even though I could not understand it in that literal understanding part of my brain.  But music births from a different part of the brain, the part that accesses the heart as well, and I believe encompasses the whole brain.

I redid the acoustic guitar part, keeping the original vocal, and added an ethereal electric guitar, bass, and synth drums.  And another harmony vocal.  Somehow I knew what to sing with the original part.  Here it is.

Someone who knew a bit about ancient languages said it was somewhat like Gaelic.  I said, “Maybe Olde Gaelic?”, half joking.  They just smiled and said, “I don’t know, I wasn’t around then”.  This mystery of music is like la Mer, an ocean I immerse myself in, where time and body become like the blood of my Soul, flowing into an endless and ancient Sea.

The song is here, waiting, like la Mer:

http://johnpaulmcneil.bandcamp.com/track/mer-fo

About John Paul McNeil

New to blogging. New to being retired (my daughter says I retired too early). I say not soon enough, as so much music was waiting to come out. Thoughts which turn to poems which turn to songs. The Earth is one rich theme. But also want to theme this search for where the Music, and the Words, and the Songs come from. And go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mer

  1. Kerry Dwyer says:

    That is a very haunting song John. I hope you manage to get a translation for it. It certainly sounds like the sea, la mer. The link above took me to “Old Newport Waltz” but I found Mer.

Leave a Reply

